Tags

, ,

A major part of any pattern or design is the color, and it’s a skill I am always looking to improve. I had taken a color class once where I learned I have a long way to go. Making gradations of several colors and manually mixing paints for hours had a special brand of pain and pleasure that makes you cherish that experience, and definitely remember the concepts. Since then I have started developing a library of tear sheets and pictures of color palettes that I like and it is a wonderful resource to have.

I am starting a series here on color stories that are currently inspiring me, and I would like to start with some of my photographs. For this set, I was inspired by nature and mostly fall colors (since you know I LOVE that season), and these feature the bold colors that I usually  lean towards. Designers, do you do something like this too?

Leaves Story Bouquet Blazing Fall

Also, I am excited to leave for New Orleans this week and when I come back I will share my explorations and inspirations. Enjoy your week!

