Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Thanksgiving: check. Black Friday: avoided it. Cyber Monday: scoped out some deals but did not pull the trigger. Well actually, a lot of online stores made it Cyber Monday all week so I am still kind of doing that. But with Thanksgiving out of the way, my thoughts are on to the next holiday, my most favorite one of the year, Christmas!

This weekend I plan on putting up my Christmas decorations and getting a tree (There is a Christmas tree seller on almost every block near my apartment now to remind me). I’m very excited about this because I really love coming home to the pine smell and I also adore our tree ornaments. Here’s some of them:

That's Edward, Bella and Jacob of, yes, Twilight.

That’s Edward, Bella and Jacob of, yes, Twilight.

Star Wars Baby Storm Trooper

Star Wars Baby Darth Vader

Tweetie Bird that sings

Green Lantern that lights up and talks in Ryan Reynolds’ movie voice.

Captain America!

Mumble of Happy Feet!

So, I’ve been a busy bee clearing out shelves and throwing out or donating anything in my apartment that I no longer use or need. Hopefully, I’ll get some painting done somewhere in there too. I am ambitious, I know, but I am working hard on getting a headstart for the New Year with all the cleaning and getting rid of anything that might hold me back.

Here are some favorite Christmas stuff I’ve come across that might inspire you to get into the holiday season too:

MUSIC: To get you in the mood for the holiday season, Pentatonix has some really awesome Christmas songs, sung in a capella usually. Check out their rendition of Little Drummer Boy.

HOLIDAY WREATH: I’ve seen these inexpensive yet fabulous DIY’s that might inspire you to create them:

Photo Credit: Pinecone Wreath by DIY Divas

Photo Credit: Pinecone Wreath by Do It Yourself Divas

  • Pinecone wreath: For those who luckily have pine trees and big backyards that usually yield pinecones, this will be almost free for you. I’ll have to find some friends who can give me pinecones for free!
Photo Credit: Peppermint Monogram Wreath by Two Twenty One

Photo Credit: Peppermint Monogram Wreath by Two Twenty One

  • Peppermint Monogram Wreath: I’m seriously thinking about making these for each friend that bought a house this year. I have at least 3 friends that I’m thinking about already! I will have to figure out a way to seal these so my friends won’t get attacked by bees, ants and sweets-loving creatures. I wonder if any of them can give me free pinecones?
Photo Credit: Snowdrift Party in a Box by West Elm

Photo Credit: Snowdrift Party in a Box by West Elm

PARTY IN A BOX: If you’re thinking of hosting a Christmas party, this may be a time saver for you. West Elm has some elegant ones that I’m liking. They have also collaborated with 4 designers to style 4 New Year’s Eve parties inspired by their party-in-a-box offerings. They will be featuring details of each event leading to the New Year with recipes and other DIY tips that can be used for your own holiday events. Here’s a sneak peek from Style Me Pretty Living.

Photo Credit: Gingerbread Garland by HonestlyYum

Photo Credit: Gingerbread Garland by HonestlyYum

EDIBLE DECOR: HonestlyYum featured these Gingerbread garlands that I think are so adorable!

HOLIDAY CARDS: If you would like to make your own holiday cards without featuring a picture postcard, or even holiday invitations, maybe you can make your own version of Omar Sosa’s Drinking Glasses project. They are so colorful and festive, and the images remind me of star lanterns in the Philippines.

Photo credit: Elf on a Shelf December Daily by Ali Edwards

Photo credit: Elf on a Shelf December Daily by Ali Edwards

FAMILY ACTIVITY: Elf on a Shelf! I have only heard about this because of my experience in children’s products and it sounds like a fun way of building up to the big holiday with the kids. Ali Edwards is doing a December Daily photo journal documenting their everyday fun with their Elf on a Shelf and invites others doing the same to post a link on her blog each day.

It’s definitely beginning to feel a lot like Christmas! On another note, I would like to thank everyone who voted for my mittens giftwrap design that I entered on Spoonflower. I did not win, but at least my average number of votes have increased! It definitely inspires me to keep going and doing what I love. They are also doing 12 days of giveaways where they have some great prizes for the DIYers out there. Click here to enter. Today’s prize is a year’s worth of unique giftwrap!