Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

PumpkinsI mentioned in my earlier post what I was bringing for Thanksgiving this year (dessert of course), and I started thinking about what I would serve if I were to host a vegetarian Thanksgiving dinner. It’s an appealing new adventure being that all my Thanksgivings thus far have included turkey (both roasted and deep fried) and all the sides, but I would not especially miss it if I ate something else. For me, Thanksgiving is enjoying being with family and sharing whatever meal we have together.

For those of you who are hosting their own Thanksgiving dinner and would like some quick and easy, last minute vegetarian options (By quick and easy, I mean active preparation is less than an hour), here’s what my ideal menu would look like:

Beverage: 

Image: Red Stamp

Image: Red Stamp

Fall Cider - Ok, this one’s actual cooking time takes a little longer (4-6 hours), but you can do this first since it’s in a slow cooker, then you can set it and forget it. Your house will undoubtedly smell wonderful too!

Image: One Hope via Style Me Pretty

Image: One Hope via Style Me Pretty

Pear & Sparkling Cider – I love my pears! I somehow inevitably get a Harry & David box of pears every year for the holidays and this is a great way to use it when I am tired of just eating them. too.

Appetizers:

Image: Food and Wine

Image: Con Poulos via Food and Wine

Sweet and Spicy Sesame Walnuts – Make sure to not coat the walnuts too thickly. I’ve done that before and it was a little too much sugar.

Image: Food and Wine

Image: Robert Wright via Food and Wine

Smoky Deviled Eggs – I’ve used Hungarian paprika (present from an aunt who visited Hungary) instead of pimenton, which I understand usually refers to Spanish paprika, and it still turned out well.

Image: Food and Wine

Image: Anson Smart via Food and Wine

Mushroom, Butternut Squash & Gruyere Tart – I first had butternut squash on my pizza at Brooklyn Bowl upon some convincing by my friend, and was blown away. This is not the same one but anything that’s a healthier version of pizza, I’m down to try. If I could only eat one thing for the rest of my life, it’s undoubtedly pizza.

Sides:

Image: Food and wine

Image: Alexandra Rowley via Food and Wine

Green Bean Casserole – Gotta throw in something traditional there, right?

Kale Salad – Now, don’t judge me. I love Cheesecake Factory, equally for their cheesecakes and their food. My husband ordered their kale salad and I loved it so much, I had to look up how to make it.

Main Dish:

Image: Kirsten Strecker via Food and Wine

Image: Kirsten Strecker via Food and Wine

Two Cheese Moussaka – Tasty and filling!

Image: Karen Mordechai via Food and Wine

Image: Karen Mordechai via Food and Wine

Pumpkin Lasagna – Why will you miss turkey after this?

Dessert: 

French Apple Tart – Pair with some vanilla ice cream if you still have room!

Image: The Kitchn

Image: The Kitchn

Peppermint Mocha (Or just make some regular coffee and get a Peppermint-flavored creamer)

Enjoy!